No Frame

Inner Space Music

Loz Speyer trumpet / flugelhorn

Chris Biscoe - alto sax / alto clarinet

Rachel Musson - tenor / soprano sax

Olie Brice - double bass

Simon Roth - drums

Live review from Bristol, Sept '11:

"There was something utterly warm and personal about this gig, and very moving. Even though the leaders trumpet was often to the fore, his role seemed as much to create situations that forced the band to think on their feet or to stitch together different fragments of a tune with frantic signalling as the moment dictated..." Mike Collins - for full review click here

"Sophisticated and harmonically intriguing." John Fordham, The Guardian

"Wonderfully vigorous, sprightly music, packed with unexpected felicities of texture and timbre, and infused with bustling, fiercely interactive energy. Recommended." Chris Parker -

"One of the happiest evenings I've heard in jazz for many a long night. Like all the best innovators, they're hard to categorise... Go along and see them."

Karl Dallas, the Morning Star

"Music of marvellous clarity, buoyed by loping, shifting rhythms. More lyrical than free, and human than abstract, this is serious fun of the first order. The imminent CD, Five Animal Dances, is a monument to a great band."

Mike Butler, Metro

The original line-up which toured and recorded the album "Five Animal Dances" featured Chris Biscoe, bassist Julie Walkington, and star drummer Seb Rochford. Then as Seb's own career took off, the wonderful Graham Fox held the drum chair, until his untimely and tragic death in 2011. Olie Brice joined the band in 2008 and Rachel in 2010. A recording of this quintet line-up with Graham Fox will be available for soon.... And now Simon Roth has now joined the group, filling the drum role perfectly from the word GO!

Inner Space Music takes improvisational music into new and different territory - compositions such as Rocket Science and From A to B to Infinity explore the boundaries between structure and freedom, between fast time, slow time and no time... and the five musical sketches Bird, Tiger, Deer, Bear and Monkey, centrepiece of the album Five Animal Dances, which attempt to translate into sound the essential vitality and playfulness of the Five Animals Qigong practise, originally designed by Taoist masters to train and cultivate the pure Chi energy in body, mind and spirit. "Serious fun of the first order." Metro

ISM Band01.JPG

VIDEOS live at the Vortex 15/04/13

(click on the titles to open in new window):

Rocket Science - the Bird - the Tiger

Tip of the Iceberg - Deep Sea Spirit - Contretemps


LOZ SPEYER trumpeter, composer

This Site Was Created Using . Create Your Own Site for Free >> Start